Top 3 Positive Movies

March 28, 2007 at 3:31 am Leave a comment

I’ve just discovered the HappyRant blog which is a very unique and refreshing read. I’m sure I’ll be spending more time over there getting caught up on all the posts, but so far I’ve just read the post on positive movies. A great idea, especially as everyone was invited to chime in with their own favourite positive movies and it’s already a great reference list.

Everyone should go check it out, and add their own positive movies.  I added my top three in the comments over there, but I thought I’d post them over here as well and elaborate on why these are my top three positive movies. 

#1 Practical Magic 

I loved this movie as soon as I saw it. When I was younger I saw it as a typical Halloween movie, with witches and spells. As I grew older, I realized that this wasn’t just your typical Halloween movie, and that it has a great message in it. I’m not sure whether I read more into this movie because I had grown and matured, or whether it was just because I had seen this movie dozens of times. Although the Owens family has many problems, from losing their parents at a young age to an abusive boyfriend to being ostracized by the townsfolk, they stay together as a family and fight to overcome their adversities. Aside from the positive aspect it has some very funny parts, and enough spooky stuff to make it a fun Halloween movie too. 

#2 Ferris Bueller’s Day Off 

This is a hilarious John Hughes film from the 80’s. Ferris calls in “sick” and convinces his best friend to join him for a day off from school. Along the way they pick up Ferris’ girlfriend and have some great adventures. Some problems crop up too, although mostly to people other than Ferris. Ferris believes in himself and gets exactly what he wants. He makes a plan and follows through, never doubting that it’s going to work. The characters are very fleshed out and very well acted. Overall, it’s a very funny movie with an upbeat message and some fun songs. A very “Carpe Diem!”  kind of movie. 

 #3 Summer School 

Another great 80’s movie. Mr. Shoop, a high school gym teacher, ends up teaching a remedial English summer school class to a group of students who would rather be anywhere else. Mr. Shoop really tries his best to motivate these kids, using everything from field trips to drivers ed classes to get them to do their best. Several students face and get through their adversities (including one girl who goes into labour during the final exam, and still finishes. Talk about determination!) It’s a funny, light hearted movie that won’t make you think too hard, but still manages to be inspiring. It really shows how determination added to the right type of motivation really gets the job done! 

Is there a great positive movie that you think I should see? Feel free to add it to the comments, and be sure to check out Curt’s original post.

  Thanks to Curt Rosengren for giving me inspiration for my first post!

Entry filed under: Movies.

10 Things I’ve Learned

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



